Home > Computers > How To Move iTunes Music From External Hard Drive To Another (for Windows)

How To Move iTunes Music From External Hard Drive To Another (for Windows)

If you are like me, I keep my iTunes music on an external hard drive. Recently, I bought a new external hard drive (1 TB) and wanted to move everything from my old external to the new one without losing playlist information (play count, lyrics, album artwork, etc.). I searched online and didn’t find anything except for using the iTunes consolidate function, which created unnecessary copies of my mp3s which I didn’t want to do. I actually did it my own way and found out this procedure is actually quite simple.

  1. Copy the music files from your old external to your new external while keeping the same folder hierarchy. Example: if your old external (let’s say drive D) contains the music in this location => D:\My Music\iTunes\Music, the new external (let’s say drive E) should have the same folder structure except for the drive letter => E:\My Music\iTunes\Music
  2. Make sure your older drive is not connected while your new drive is connected. Change the new drive letter to the old drive letter (in this case you are changing the new drive letter from drive E to drive D). I use Windows 7 Professional so here is a quick and easy procedure on how to change the drive letter in 7: http://www.itechtalk.com/thread3400.html (Note: Changing the drive letter will cause other programs that rely on the older drive to fail. I didn’t have anything else other than iTunes that relied on the older drive so I was fine. If you have other programs that rely on the older drive, you can copy them to the new drive the same way you did for your iTunes music, keeping the same file structure, and your programs will still work.)
  3. After you change the new drive letter to the old one, you are done. Fire up iTunes and confirm that the transfer worked by playing some songs. When you plug in your older external hard drive to your computer, Windows will assign it a new, unused drive letter (in this case, E).
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

